Zaman’s scintillating innings help Pakistan lift T20 Tri-series trophy

Sarfaraz and co. register a comfortable six-wicket win against Australia in the final

Fakhar Zaman’s outstanding knock helped Pakistan beat Australia by six wickets in the final of the T20I Tri-Series to lift the title in Harare on Sunday.The day started with Australia captain Aaron Finch winning the toss and opting to bat first. His decision proved a correct one as Kangaroos were off to a flying start after reaching to 95 without loss in the 10th over and looked set to register a score in excess of 200.

But a brilliant second-half from the Men in Green bowlers restricted the Baggy Greens to a total of 183 for eight in their allotted 20 overs. Opener D’Arcy Short finished the innings with the top score of 76 off 53 balls with the help of seven fours and four sixes, whereas Finch scored 47 off 27 balls with the help of two fours and three sixes.

For the Green Caps, left-arm pacer Mohammad Amir was the star of the show as he claimed figures of three for 33 in his four overs, whereas leg-spinner Shadab Khan claimed two wickets.

In response, Pakistan had a horrid start as the team lost two wickets in the first over at the score of just two runs.A 45-run partnership between Zaman and captain Sarfaraz Ahmed revived team’s chase, but once the latter departed courtesy a silly run out, Australia looked comfortably in control to seal the win.

However, a 107-run partnership between Zaman and veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik for the fourth wicket turned the game on its head and sealed a comfortable win for the team with four balls to spare. Zaman finished the innings with the top score of stunning 91 off 46 balls with the help of 12 fours and three sixes, whereas Malik remained not out on 43 off 37 balls with the help of three fours and one six.

For Australia, off-spinner Glenn Maxwell claimed two, whereas pacer Jhye Richardson claimed one wicket. For his outstanding performance in the match and the series, Zaman was named player of the match. The left-hander was also adjudged player of the competition.

Leave a Reply