Warner’s ton inspires Aussies series win over New Zealand

Opener David Warner scored his 16th one-day international century as Australia defeated New Zealand by 116 runs in the second ODI to seal the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series 2-0 on Tuesday.

The 30-year-old took advantage of great batting conditions on the small Manuka Oval ground in Canberra, after Black Caps skipper Kane Willamson won the toss and surprisingly opted to bowl first.

The New South Wales left-hander scored a scintillating 119 off 115 balls, which included 14 fours and one six.

He was equally supported by captain Steven Smith, who scored 72 off 76 balls which included six fours and one six.

The hosts scored 126 runs in their last 10 overs, thanks to sublime hitting by under-pressure all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who scored 76 not out off just 40 balls which included just two fours and seven massive sixes, and was equally supported by Travis Head, who scored his second consecutive half-century of the series as Smith’s men finish their innings at the massive total of 378 for five.

For Kiwis, veteran pacer Tim Southee was the most successful bowler, as he claimed two wickets and just gave away 63 runs in 10 overs.

His fellow pacemen Matt Henry and Trent Boult were taken to task by the Australian batsmen, especially by Marsh, as the duo conceded 170 runs in their 20 overs, and picked up just one wicket.

Chasing a mammoth target of 379 to level the series, the Black Caps started brightly, but lost their first wicket at the score of 40 when opener Tom Latham was dismissed by pacer Josh Hazlewood.

First match centurion Martin Guptill was the next one to depart, as he was dismissed by fast-bowler Pat Cummins after scoring a brisk 45 off 33 balls with the help of seven boundaries and one six.

The visitors received a glimmer of hope courtesy third wicket partnership between captain Williamson and all-rounder Jimmy Neesham, as the Black Caps reached 177 for the loss of two wickets at the end of 30 overs.

However, Hazlewood came back to remove Neesham and opened the flood gates for the hosts, who made full use of it and bowled the opposition out at the score of 262 in the 48th over.

Captain Williamson finished the innings with the top score of 81 off 80 balls, whereas Neesham scored 74 off 83 balls.

For Australia, pacer Cummins picked four wickets, whereas Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and all-rounder James Faulkner picked up two wickets each.

For his brilliant century, Warner was awarded man of the match.

Leave a Reply