Warner’s 92 helps Sunrisers Hyderabad brush aside Royal Challengers Bangalore by 15 runs

The twenty-seventh game played  in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League saw Royal Challengers Bangalore take on a resurgent side Sunrisers Hyderabad at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bowl first on a decent deck produced at Hyderabad for the game.David Warner once again showed his destructive abilities as a opening batsman as he struck 92 runs off 50 balls as he smashed Royal Challengers Bangalore bowlers to all corners of the ground to notch up his fifth fifty in seven matches played in this season.David Warner was on song as he cut and pulled the ball with force to regular produce boundaries and keep the rate of scoring at a high temp throughout the innings.

Kane Williamson also proved to be a suitable partner at the other end as he struck 50 runs off 38 balls to share 124 run partnership with David Warner.The late innings at the end  played by Moises Henriques who scored unbeaten 31 runs off 14 runs helped Sunrisers to post 194 fo5 after 20 overs.

Virat Kohli came out as opener and was dismissed for 14 by left arm medium pacer Mustafizur Rahman that provided Sunrisers to get early momentum under the belt.Once Kohli was back in the pavilion,all eyes were set on AB de Villiers to deliver a superlative performance to get his team over the line.Though, AB de Villiers did score 47 runs it was not enough for his side to be on the winning end in the game.KL Rahul also showed his promise as youngster as he scored fifty runs off 26 balls to keep Royal Challengers in the hunt in chasing the score down.

Once KL Rahul and ABD departed,it was all over as no one after that look threatening to take the game away from the hands of Sunrisers Hyderabad who won the match by 15 runs and  consolidated their place in top 4 of the league table.The loss saw Royal Challengers  relegate to the last four teams in the table as they will have all the work to do if they are to challenge for the coveted trophy in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply