Warner’s 90 helps Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets

The twelfth game in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League saw reigning champions Mumbai Indians lock horns against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium,Hyderabad.

David Warner,captain for the Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to field first to chase down the score posted by Mumbai Indians.Everything clicked on the night for Sunrisers Hyderabad from winning the toss to containing the opposition to a modest total and then chasing it comfortably to win the match by 7 wickets.David Warner,who scored an unbeaten 90 runs off 59 balls led from the front as it never allowed Mumbai Indians to stage a comeback during the chase.

The match started as Sunrisers Hyderabad bowlers did make full use of damp conditions to swing the ball appreciably due to showers just before the start of the game.Mumbai Indians were wayward in their line and lengths due to which Dave Warner cashed in through his innings.Tim Southee performed well with the ball for Mumbai Indians managing to get 3 wickets for 24 runs in his four over spell.

David Warner decision to bowl first turned out to be masterstroke as his bowlers led by Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled probing spell to eek out an early wicket.Barinder Sran also bowled well  as he took important wickets of Parthiv Patel,Jos Butler and Ambati Rayudu.

The win meant that Sunrisers Hyderabad have notched up their first win while Mumbai Indians will have to work hard as they have now lost three games out of five matches in the ninth edition of Indian Premier League.


Leave a Reply