Tim Siefert, Tim Southee shine as New Zealand hammer India

New Zealand brought their A-game to the table with the bat to beat India by 80 runs in the first T20I played at Westpac Stadium in Wellington. Chasing to 220 runs to win, it proved to be an uphill task as India could only score 139 runs in 19.2 overs.

With this result, New Zealand have taken 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. The margin of defeat was India’s biggest in terms of runs in the T20 format.

New Zealand got off to a flier as openers Tim Siefert and Colin Munro added 86 runs in a space of eight overs. Munro was the first to be dismissed as left-arm spinner Krunal Pandya ended the partnership to see New Zealand lose their first wicket.

Wicket-keeper Tim Siefert certainly batted brilliantly in placid conditions and scored 83 off 43 balls with the help of seven fours and six sixes. He was well supported by Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor, who chipped in with crucial scores for the side.

Captain Kane Williamson also looked good at the crease and scored 34 off 22 balls with the help of three sixes. Scott Kuggeleijn late blitz helped New Zealand post a mammoth score of 220 runs from their 20 overs.For India, Krunal Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal bowled well and conceded less than ten runs an over.

Tim Siefert produced a brilliant innings to help New Zealand beat India by 80 runs in the opening T20I game played at Eden Park, Auckland.

In pursuit of 220 runs, Tim Southee dismissed Captain Rohit Sharma to get New Zealand off to a perfect start. Shikhar Dhawan started off well and smashed a couple of fours and sixes against Scott Kuggeleijn. Vijay Shankar came at no.3 in the batting order and also went on the charge against New Zealand bowlers.

Pace bowler Lockie Ferguson bowled a searing yorker to rattle Shikhar Dhawan’s stumps in the fifth over of the innings. After the departure of Dhawan, India lost wickets at regular intervals to lose four more wickets in a space of few overs.

MS Dhoni continued his good form in this game as well and scored 39 off 31 balls with the help of five boundaries. India were bundled out for 139 runs in 19.2 overs.

For New Zealand, Pace bowler Tim Southee was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets to his name. Lockie Ferguson, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi picked up two wickets apiece.The second game of the T20I series will be played on Friday at Eden Park, Auckland.

Leave a Reply