Sunrisers Hyderabad led by Warner lift their first title by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs

The final of the Indian Premier League 2016 saw Sunrisers Hyderabad take on Royal Challengers Bangalore at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore to fight it out for the biggest prize.

Sunrisers Hyderabad led by David Warner showed positive intent as the captain won the toss and decided to bat first on a pitch that tends to offer more for batsman than bowlers. It has been the perhaps the only pitch at Bangalore that has seen big scores being chased down in an effortless fashion. David Warner led the charge to provide brisk start to the innings by attacking the bowlers and scoring quick runs. Shikhar Dhawan provide suitable support as he played himself as Warner was going berserk on the bowlers at the other end. David Warner went to top score for his side with 68 runs off 38 balls and was supported by Yuvraj Singh and Ben Cutting who played quick-fire innings at the end to take the total to 208 for 7 after 20 overs.However,the star of the show was Sunrisers Bowling which once again came to fore and delivered at the crunch moment to bag their first crown in the Indian Premier League.

Royal Challengers started well as Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli put over a 100 run partnership to lay down ideal base for other batsman to play their natural game. Once both were dismissed, the slide came for the side as the rest of the batting order with likes of de Villiers, Watson, KL Rahul all fell trying to play big shots. Shane Watson had a tough at the office due to poor bowling at the end. Mustafizur Rahman and Bhuvneshwar Kumar did manage to bowl well at the death overs giving nothing to the likes of Sachin Baby and Shane Watson to see their side to win the game by 8 wickets.Ben Cutting was adjudged as the player of the game while Virat Kohli for his 950 plus in the tournament was awarded with player of Indian Premier League.

After losing their first two games, Sunrisers Hyderabad led by David Warner played well and were the best side in the tournament while Royal Challengers will rue the fact that they fell so close to winning their first title in the Indian Premier League.



Leave a Reply