St.Lucia Zouks continue their winning streak by defeating Jamaica Tallawahs by 17 runs

The 30th game in the Caribbean Premier League 2016 saw battle between top sides in the league as Jamaica Tallawahs took on St. Lucia Zouks at Central Broward Regional Park Turf Stadium, Lauderhill in Florida. The game was a chance for both sides to go into the playoffs with a win under their belt.

St. Lucia Zouks have peaked at the right moment as they once again came out on top against Jamaica Tallawahs. The side led by Darren Sammy produces a dominant performance with the bat followed with a clinical display with the bowl against high fancied time like Jamaica Tallawahs. Jamaica Tallawahs won the toss and decided to field first as St. Lucia Zouks openers Andre Fletcher and Johnson Charles once again got off to fantastic start as they put on 104 run opening stand to lay an ideal foundation for big hitters to come late in the innings. Charles was rich form as he scored 50 runs off 27 balls and hit nine boundaries in his innings. Johnson Charles departed for 64 runs as he was dismissed by left arm orthodox spinner Garey Mathurin.

The man of the moment in the last game, André Fletcher continued his excellent form as he scored 70 runs off 54 balls.He struck four fours and five sixes in his innings. Michael Hussey was gone for 8 while Watson came on to provide impetus to the innings. The innings from Shane Watson was the perfect finish for Zouks as he clobbered an unbeaten 17 ball 42 runs to take the total over 180 runs in the innings. St. Lucia Zouks finished at 194 runs after 20 overs.

Earlier in the day, Captain Chris Gayle led the charge for Jamaica Tallawahs in the initial overs as the side had a brisk start after being placed at 43 for no loss after four overs. Chris Gayle’s innings came to an end as he was Watson dismissed him for 30 runs. Kumar Sangakkara, Rowan Powell and Andre Russell all got starts but could not go on to score big as Zouks took wickets at regular intervals to see their side win the game by 16 runs. The bowling from Shane Watson and Jerome Taylor at the death overs was a telling difference as players like Russell, Rose and Shakib-ul-Hasan were never allowed to go berserk in the last overs of the innings.

The tournament is reaching is finale as teams now head towards the playoffs to see which side will eventually take the big prize on August 7.

Leave a Reply