Srilanka clinch tri-nation series after defeating Zimbabwe by six wickets at Bulawayo

The final of tri-nation series was played between hosts Zimbabwe and Srilanka at Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo. The contest between the two sides turned out to be a fairly one sided affair as Srilanka bowlers put in a pitch perfect display with the ball to bundle out home side for 160 runs and then chase the target with relative ease to win the series by six wickets.

Kusal Mendis was the star for Srilanka in the chase as he scored 57 runs off 72 balls and struck ten boundaries. Srilanka reply also started in jittery fashion as the side was reduced to 42 for 3 due to Brian Vitori probing spell in the opening overs of the innings. Mendis put on a 75 run partnership with Upul Tharanga to see visitors get close to the target. Tharanga remained unbeaten on 57 runs to see the side knock off the winning runs.

Earlier in the day, Zimbabwe won the toss and imploded to get bowled out for a paltry score of 160 runs on a fair good batting surface at Bulawayo. The batsmen gave it away for the hosts as they could not get anything in the innings as Srilanka took firm control of the game. The top scorer for Zimbabwe was Tarisai Musakanda who scored 36 runs before getting out to leg spinner Jeffery Vandersay. The spinners did the trick for Srilanka as Sachith Pathirana, Jeffrey Vandersay and Asela Gunaratne took eight wickets between them to put their side in the box seat in the game.


Leave a Reply