Spinners shine as Trinbago Knight Riders qualify for the CPL finals

Spin trio of Akeal Hossain, Khary Pierre and Sunil Narine delivered splendid performances to see Trinbago Knight Riders register a comprehensive win over Jamaica Tallawahs. With this result, Trinbago Knight Riders have qualified for the finals of the competition.

The day started with Trinbago Knight Riders winning the toss and opted to bowl first. The decision proved to be a correct one as Jamaica Tallawahs struggled to get going on a sluggish pitch. Jermaine Blackwood perished for a duck in the very first over of the innings.

Left-arm orthodox Khary Pierre got rid of in-form opener Glenn Phillips to see the side lose their second wicket in the second over of the innings. Tail-ender Mujeeb Ur Rehman also failed to make an impression as Tallawahs were reduced to 10 for 3 after 2.4 overs.

Middle-order batsman Asif Ali also failed to adjust to the conditions and departed in the fourth over to see Jamaica Tallawahs reeling at 25 for 4 after 4.2 overs. Nkrumah Bonner and Captain Rovman Powell led the fightback of sorts with 38-run partnership.

For Jamaica Tallawahs, Nkrumah Bonner was the standout player with the bat and finished the innings with the top-score of 41 runs off 42 balls with the help of five boundaries. He was well supported by Powell, who chipped in with 33 runs off 35 balls with the help of one four and one six.

All-rounder Carlos Brathwaite added vital runs at the end to help Jamaica Tallawahs post a paltry score of 107 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

For Trinbago Knight Riders, Left-arm orthodox Akeal Hossain was best bowler on display and finished with figures of 3 for 14 in his three overs. Khary Pierre claimed two wickets, whereas Sunil Narine and Fawad Ahmed claimed one wicket each.

Chasing 108 runs proved to be effortless task for Trinbago Knight Riders. Makeshift Sunil Narine perished for a low score. But Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo put on a 97-run partnership for the second wicket to see Trinbago Knight Riders register a dominant nine wicket-win and qualify for the finals.

For Trinbago Knight Riders, Lendl Simmons was the standout player with the bat and smashed unbeaten 54 runs off 44 balls with the help of six fours and two sixes. He was well supported by Darren Bravo, who chipped in with a fluent 44 not out off 43 balls with the help of six fours and one six.

For his splendid bowling performance, Left-arm spinner Akeal Hossain was named player of the match.

Leave a Reply