Seamers bowl incisive spells as Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 5 wickets against Gujarat lions

The thirty-fourth game in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League saw Sunrisers Hyderabad take on Gujarat lions at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium,Hyderabad.

The pitch prepared for the game was too paced as Sunrisers Hyderabad seamers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ashish Nehra exploited the conditions to a tee as they contained Gujarat Lions to see them put up a paltry total of 126 runs after 20 overs.Mustafizur Rahman also bowled an incisive spell to the back the opening bowlers to ensure Lions never managed to break free throughout the innings.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad in the chase were helped as conditions got easier to bat as they never were pushed to the limits due to the low total.David Warner provided a quick start to the innings while Dhawan picked up boundaries at regular intervals.However,there was a twist in the tale as when David Warner got dismissed, there was a flurry of wickets after that to see Lions stretch the game till the 19th over.

Shikhar Dhawan played a composed innings and remained unbeaten on 47 runs scored off 40 balls to see his side register a five wicket win over Gujarat lions.

Earlier in the day,David Warner won the toss and decided to bowl first due to heavy showers on the eve of the game.The conditions were contagious for swing bowling as Bhuvneshwar Kumar found a perfect length to dismiss Dwayne Smith.Bhuvneshwar Kumar also got the better off the opposition skipper Suresh Raina when he had him caught and bowled to take his second wicket of the game.

Mustafizur also maintained tidy lengths as he finished two wickets and only conceded 17 runs from his four overs.Aaron Finch was a bright spot for lions as he scored unbeaten 51 runs off 42 balls and formed 45 run partnership for the fifth wicket with Dwayne Bravo to take the side to scored 126 runs off 20 overs.

The result of the game gives Sunrisers Hyderabad their fourth win while Gujarat Lions slumped to their second consecutive defeat in the Indian Premier League 2016.

Leave a Reply