Schedule, Fixtures for New Zealand vs Pakistan 2018

Pakistan will tour New Zealand in the month of January to play five one-day internationals and three T20 internationals. Pakistan one-day captain Sarfaraz Ahmed made clear that they want to win in New Zealand to continue their ascent to the top in the 50-over format. In June, Pakistan overcame all odds and upstaged favorites like England and India to lift their maiden Champions

New Zealand side has enjoyed a good home season with convincing win over West Indies in the Tests and ODIs. Kane Williamson will be focused that the side would be able to continue their winning streak against Mercurial side like Pakistan. Pakistan have named their 16-man squad for the series.

Ahmed Shehzad has been dropped while opener Azhar Ali makes his return to the one-day squad. Imam-ul-Haq is reserve opener for the series as Azhar Ali is tipped to open the innings alongside Fakhar Zaman for the five-match series. Zaman will be keen to prove a point after scoring big runs since his maiden century against arch-rivals against India in the finals of Champions Trophy.

Babar Azam has been star performer for Pakistan in the format coming in at no.3 in the batting lineup. The batsman has delivered consistently big scores in this period and would be keen to continue this rich vein of form in this tour as well. Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez are two experienced players in the middle order who have done well for Pakistan over the years. Sarfaraz Ahmed is a gritty player coming late in the order and contributes with valuable runs for Pakistan.

Faheem Ashraf or Mohammad Nawaz might get into the XI as left-arm spinner Imad Wasim is ruled out of the tour due to injury. Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees, Aamer Yamin and Hasan Ali are pace options for Pakistan while Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan are two options in the spin department.

New Zealand also has full-strength squad to select for the home one-day series against Pakistan. Martin Guptill will open the innings with Colin Munro as duo is turning out to be explosive pair in the one-day game for New Zealand. Guptill is a prolific runs-scorer for New Zealand at the top of the innings while Munro has produced breezy knocks in the past for the side.

Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor are two bankable players for New Zealand in the middle order in the 50-over format. Williamson needs to improve his performances with the bat as captaincy has lessened his capabilities as a batsman. Taylor has been in good nick in the last year or so and has produced big runs on regular basis.

Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips and Tom Latham are going to fight it out for a place in the middle order in New Zealand batting lineup. Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi are spinners available for the series while Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult and Tim Southee are pace options for New Zealand.

New Zealand vs Pakistan Schedule

1st ODI – New Zealand vs Pakistan
Saturday, Jan 6, 2018 at 22:00 GMT

2nd ODI- New Zealand vs Pakistan
Tuesday, Jan 9, 2018 at 22:00 GMT

3rd ODI – New Zealand vs Pakistan
Saturday, Jan 13, 2018 at 22:00 GMT

4th ODI – New Zealand vs Pakistan
Tuesday, Jan 16, 2018 at 01:00 GMT

5th ODI- New Zealand vs Pakistan
Friday, Jan 19, 2018 at 22:00 GMT

1st T20 – New Zealand vs Pakistan
Monday, Jan 22, 2018 at 03:00 GMT

2nd T20– New Zealand vs Pakistan
Thursday, Jan 25, 2018 at 06:00 GMT

3rd T20 – New Zealand vs Pakistan
Sunday, Jan 28, 2018 at 06:00 GMT

Leave a Reply