Schedule, Fixtures for South Africa vs Sri Lanka 2019

Sri Lanka will face uphill task when they travel to South Africa to play two-match Test series that starts from 13th February.

The visitors have made a lot of changes for the tour as captain Dinesh Chandimal has been dropped from the squad due to his poor run of form with the bat. All-rounder Angelo Matthew will also miss due to hamstring injury. Opener Dimuth Karunaratne has been named interim captain for the side for the Test series. Sri Lanka have included five uncapped players for the Test series in South Africa.

On the other hand, Hosts South Africa inflicted a whitewash over Pakistan in the three-match Test series played earlier this season. Skipper Faf du Plessis has stressed that the side needs to maintain their focus on red-ball cricket and claim top spot in the ICC Test Rankings. The side has produced consistently good performances with bat and ball in games played at home.

Duanne Olivier, Aiden Markam and Quinton de Kock played leading roles for South Africa in the previous series played against Pakistan. The hosts will be relying on their experienced players like Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla and Faf du Plessis to do the bulk of the scoring. Theunis De Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza and uncapped Wiann Mulder are three promising players that will be looking to do well in this two-match Test series.

Dale Steyn made an emphatic return to Test cricket and also picked up crucial wickets for the side against Pakistan. Left-arm orthodox spinner Keshav Maharaj is likely to come back into the playing XI as surfaces in Durban or Port Elizabeth will certainly suit the slow bowlers.

The first Test of the series will be played at Kingsmead Cricket Ground in Durban from 13th to 17th February. The second and final Test will be played at St Georges Park in Port Elizabeth from 21st to 25th February.

The conclusion of the Test series will see South Africa play five-match one-day series against Sri Lanka that will start from 3rd March. The games will be played across five venues- Johannesburg, Durban, Centurion, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town. The islanders will then play three-match Test series to conclude the tour. The T20I series will be played across three venues- Cape Town, Johannesburg and Centurion. The series will begin from 19th March in Cape Town.

Sri Lanka Vs South Africa Schedule

1st Test – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 at 08:00 GMT

2nd Test – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Thursday, February 21, 2019 at 08:00 GMT

1st ODI– South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Sunday, March 3, 2019 at 08:00 GMT

2nd ODI – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 at 11:00 GMT

3rd ODI– South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Sunday, March 10, 2019 at 08:00 GMT

4th ODI – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 at 11:00 GMT

5th ODI – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Saturday, March 16, 2019 at 11:00 GMT

1st T20I – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 at 16:00 GMT

2nd T20I – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Friday, March 22, 2019 at 16:00 GMT

3rd T20I- South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Sunday, March 24, 2019 at 12:30 GMT

Leave a Reply