Schedule, Fixtures for Lankan Premier League

The inaugural Lankan Premier League is scheduled to be played in Sri Lanka in the month of November and December.  The inaugural  edition of the league will be played from 26th November till 16th December. All the preliminary and knockout matches will be played at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. The five franchises in Colombo Kings, Dambulla Vikings, Galle Gladiators, Kandy Tuskers and Jaffna Stallions in this inaugural season.

Shahid Afridi has been named captain for Galle Gladiators, while Former Pakistan wicket-keeper Moin Khan will act as a coach of the side. Veteran pacer Lasith Malinga will miss the inaugural season due to personal reason, while wicket-keeper Sarfaraz Ahmed is unavailable due to his international commitments for Pakistan national cricket team.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Danushka Gunathilaka and wicket-keeper Chadwick Walton are premier players in the batting department for Galle Gladiators in this year’s tournament. The franchise has signed Afghanistan’s Hazratullah Zazai to bolster their batting resources, while pacer Mohammad Amir will lead the bowling unit this season.

Angelo Matthews  will lead Colombo Kings for the opening edition of Lankan Premier League. Former Sri Lankan captain will be keen to find form with the bat in the T20 format.Laurie Evans and Daniel Bell-Drummond are overseas players signed by Colombo Kings to increase their bench strength for the inaugural edition of the league.

All-rounder Dasun Shanaka has been captain of the Dambulla Kings. In the batting department, the onus will be on the likes of Niroshan Dickwella and Oshada Fernando to deliver notable scores for the side. Besides Dickwella and Fernando, England all-rounder will hold the key in the middle-order

On the bowling front, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha will be looking to make early inroads with the new-ball.

Swashbuckling opener Kusal Perea has been named as captain of Kandy Tuskers. Experienced trio of Kusal Mendis, Seekugge Prasanna and Asela Gunaratne will hold the key in the batting department.

Leave a Reply