Schedule, Fixtures for India vs Sri Lanka 2020

Sri Lanka is scheduled to tour India in the month of January to play three-match T20I series. The opening game of three-match T20I series will be played at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati on 5th January. India have announced their T20 squad for the series.

Pacer Jaspreet Bumrah and opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan have made their comeback to the national side for this series. Vice-captain Rohit Sharma and pacer Mohammad Shami have been rested due to playing continuous cricket for India across all three formats.

Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been ruled out of the T20I series due to injuries. Shardul Thakur and Navdeep Saini will be the prominent pace options for India besides spearhead Jaspreet Bumrah.

In the batting department, the home side will be relying heavily on the top-order trio of Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul and Virat Kohli to deliver the bulk of the runs. In the previous T20I series against West Indies, Captain Virat Kohli led from the front with the bat and finished as the leading run-scorer for India with 183 runs to his name. He smashed two splendid half-centuries to see India clinch another T20I series on home soil.

Besides Kohli, Lokesh Rahul showed excellent form with the bat for India in the previous series against West Indies. In three matches, Rahul accumulated 164 runs at an average of 54.67 with two half-centuries to his name. He will be looking to continue his rich vein of form with the bat.

On the bowling front, the side will be depending on the likes of Jaspreet Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Kuldeep Yadav to make crucial breakthroughs. All-rounder Ravendra Jadeja and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal are other prominent spin options for India for this T20I series.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka will be looking to start their new year on a positive note. The side suffered a clean sweep in the previous T20I series against Australia. The Islanders will be relieved to be back playing on sub-continent pitches that suits their style of play.

In the batting department, the side will be relying on likes of Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera and Bhanuka Rajapaksa to make notable contributions in this T20I series. The likes of Perera and Rajapaksa have shown decent form with the bat for Sri Lanka in the T20 cricket.

The experience of Angelo Matthews, Lasith Malinga, Niroshan Dickwella will certainly benefit the side as they have previously played in these conditions.

In the bowling department, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lasith Malinga and Lahiru Kumara will need to make crucial breakthroughs for the side in this series.

It will be interesting to see how Sri Lanka fare against India in this three-match T20I series. The schedule and fixtures for India vs Sri Lanka 2020 T20I series is given below:

India vs Sri Lanka 2020 Schedule

1st T20I–India vs Sri Lanka
Sunday, January 5 2020, at 01:30 GMT

2nd T20I– India vs Sri Lanka
Tuesday, January 7, 2020, at 01:30 GMT

3rd T20I – India vs Sri Lanka
Friday, January 10, 2020, at 01:30 GMT

Leave a Reply