Schedule, Fixtures for England vs Sri Lanka 2021

Sri Lanka is all set to tour England in the month of June and July to play Three T20Is and three ODIs, starting from 23rd June in Cardiff.

The series will see England return to white-ball cricket after almost three months.. The two cricketing nations will compete in three-match T20Is. The first two matches of the series will be played at Cardiff, while the series finale will be played at Southampton.

Therefore, both teams will be hoping to give their all and make this series a memorable one for the fans as well as for the players.

Due to covid-19 restrictions, Cardiff, Southampton, London, Chester-le-Street and Bristol are the venues picked for the T20I and ODI series against Sri Lanka.

The home team will be coming in this series as favorites as they have been phenomenal to say the least in white-ball cricket.

On the other hand, England have been in red-hot form in white-ball cricket since winning their maiden ICC Cricket World Cup at home in 2019.

After suffering series in the one-day series played in Bangladesh, India’s team management will be hoping to that the side can turn things around in the white-ball cricket..

In the batting department, the home team will be relying heavily on the likes of in-form opener Kusal Perera, middle-order batting trio of Avishka Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka and Dhananjaya de Silva to score bulk of the runs.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the likes of Wanindu Hasaranga to produce magic with his leg-spin and he will be accompanied by pace trio of Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Dasun Shanaka to produce timely breakthroughs.

Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya and Praveen Jayawickrama are other spin options included in the T20I and ODI squad for the tour of England.

On the other hand, England will be coming into this series after suffering defeat at the hands of New Zealand in a two-match Test series played at home.

The team has picked their full-strength squad as all-rounders Chris Woakes, Sam Curran and Moeen Ali are named in the Test squad. Pacers Tom Curran, David Willey and Chris Jordan have also been named in the T20I squad.

In the batting department, the visitors will be depending heavily on the likes of Captain Eoin Morgan, opening-batsman Jonny Bairstow, middle-order batsman Dawid Malan and wicket-keeper Jos Buttler to score bulk of the runs.

On the bowling front, the visitors will be heavily relying on the likes of Chris Woakes, Mark Wood and Adil Rashid to provide crucial breakthroughs. Chris Jordan, Tom Curran and David Willey are other pace options for the T20I series. Liam Livingston, Liam Dawson and Sam Billings are also included in the T20I squad.

However, because of the perfect batting conditions and exceptional white-ball record at home since past five years, England will start as favorites for the T20I and ODI series against Sri Lanka.

England vs Sri Lanka 2021 Schedule

1st T20–England vs Sri Lanka
Wednesday, 23rd June, 2021, at 05:00 PM GMT

2nd T20I–England vs Sri Lanka
Thursday, 24th June, 2021, at 05:00 PM GMT

3rd T20I–England vs Sri Lanka
Saturday, 26th June, 2021, at 01:30 PM GMT

1st ODI – England vs Sri Lanka
Tuesday, 29th June, 2021, at 10:00 AM GMT

2nd ODI –England vs Sri Lanka
Thursday, 1st July, 2021, at 12:00 AM GMT

3rd ODI–England vs Sri Lanka
Sunday, 4th July, 2021 at 10:00 AM GMT

Leave a Reply