Schedule, Fixtures for Australia vs Sri Lanka 2019

Sri Lanka is scheduled to tour Australia to play two-match Test series in the month of January. The visitors will play a day-night warm-up game against Cricket Australia XI in Bellrieve Oval, Hobart. The Islanders will play the opening game of the Test series against Australia at The Gabba, Brisbane from 24th January.

Hosts Australia have made wholesale changes to their Test squad after losing home series to India. Shaun Marsh, Aaron Finch and Peter Handscomb have been dropped from the side following their poor form in the four-match series against India. All-rounder Mitchell Marsh was also overlooked as the selectors have gone for uncapped players for the two-match series against Sri Lanka.

Uncapped Will Pucovski and Kurtis Patterson have earned their maiden-call up to the Test squad following their good performances in the Sheffield Shield cricket this season. Jhye Richardson has been rewarded by the selectors for showing good form in the shorter formats of the game.

Matt Renshaw and Joe Burns have made their return to the side after doing well for their domestic sides in the Shield competition. Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins were the premier bowling options for Australia.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka will be keen to do well on this tour after suffering back-to-back defeats against England and New Zealand. Left-handed batsman Kusal Perera has made his comeback to the Test squad while Sadheera Samarawickrama and Lahiru Thiramanne have been included in the setup announced for Australia series.

Kusal Mendis found form with the bat in New Zealand and is one of premier players in the batting department alongside Dinesh Chandimal and Dimuth Karunaratne. Niroshan Dickwella is still the first-choice wicket-keeper for the side in the five-day format. Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva and Kasun Rajitha are promising players in the Test squad for Sri Lanka, who will be keen to make an impression on their first trip to Australia.

Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal and Lahiru Kumara are three premier pace options for Sri Lanka for the two-match series.

Australia vs Sri Lanka 2019 Schedule

1st Test – Australia vs Sri Lanka

Thursday, Jan 24, 2019, at 03:00 GMT

2nd Test – Australia vs Sri Lanka

Friday, Feb 01, 2019, at 11:30 GMT

Leave a Reply