Ross Taylor, Kyle Jamieson star as New Zealand clinch ODI series

Ross Taylor and Martin Guptill smashed splendid half-centuries followed by debutant pacer Kyle Jamieson excellent bowling performances was enough to see New Zealand clinch one-day series against India in the 2nd ODI played at Eden Park in Auckland. With this result, New Zealand have taken 2-0 lead in three-match one-day series with one game to go.

Indian Captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl first in decent batting conditions. New Zealand openers Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls got the side off to an excellent start and added 93 runs for the opening wicket. Nicholls was the first to be dismissed as leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal provided breakthrough for India. Left-hander scored 41 runs off 59 balls with the help of five boundaries.

Tom Blundell also looked good at the crease and scored 22 runs off 25 balls with the help of three boundaries. Veteran opener Martin Guptill was the standout performer for the side and scored 79 runs off 79 balls with the help of eight fours and three sixes. With the dismissal of Martin Guptill, New Zealand lost their way in their innings and went from 157 for 2 to 197 for 8.

Captain Tom Latham, James Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme perished in quick succession to see New Zealand struggle in their innings. Ross Taylor once again delivered a splendid innings and led a fightback of sorts to help New Zealand post 273 runs for the loss of eight wickets in 50 overs.

Ross Taylor scored 73 not out off 74 balls with the help of six fours and two sixes. He put on an unbeaten 75-run partnership with Kyle Jamieson to see New Zealand post a decent total on the board. Debutant Kyle Jamieson contributed with crucial cameo for New Zealand and scored 25 runs off 24 balls with the help of one four and two sixes.

For India, Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets to his name. Left-arm spinner Ravendra Jadeja also produced a tidy performance and finished with 1 for 35 in his 10 overs.

In reply, Hamish Bennett dismissed Mayank Agarwal in the third over of the innings to see India lose their first wicket with 21 runs on the board. Rookie opener Prithvi Shaw once again failed to capitalize on his good start and perished after scoring 24 runs off 19 balls with the help of six boundaries.

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli also failed to make a contribution with the bat to see India slump to 57 for 3 after 9.4 overs. Wicket-keeper batsman Lokesh Rahul and all-rounder Kedhar Jadhav also fell for single-digit scores to see India lose their way in the chase.

Shreyas Iyer provided some hope for the side and notched up a half-century to see India keep the scoreboard ticking. He was dismissed in the 27th over to see India lose their sixth wicket with 127 runs on the board. Ravendra Jadeja and Navdeep Saini put on a valiant effort with the bat for India. Ravendra Jadeja scored 55 runs off 73 balls, whereas tail-ender Navdeep Saini scored 45 runs off 49 balls with the help of five fours and two sixes.

In the end it wasn’t enough as India were bundled out for 251 runs in the penultimate over of the innings to see New Zealand register 22-run win and clinch the one-day series.

For New Zealand, pace trio of Hamish Bennett, Kyle Jamieson and Tim Southee delivered excellent performances and claimed two wickets each. Colin de Grandhomme picked up key wickets of Lokesh Rahul and Shardul Thakur. James Neesham also bowled well and finished with figures of 1 for 52 in 9.3 overs.

For his splendid contribution with bat and ball, Debutant Kyle Jamieson was named player of the match. The third and final game of the one-day series will be played at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply