A Prologue to WorldT20 2016

The WorldT20 2016 is drawing near and seems to have developed hysteria and euphoria at the right time among all the cricketing fans around the world.

The event will see top eight teams along with two qualifiers will battle it out for the top prize in the 27 day tournament playing in venues like Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata and Bengaluru.

Mumbai and New Delhi are the chosen venues for hosting the two semifinals that will be played on 30th  and 31st March while the final will be staged at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on April 3rd 2016.The qualifiers are already under way but real competition will commence at the super 10 stage from March 15 as ten teams are divided into two groups of five teams each.

The hosts India going into the tournament are firm favorites and there should be no surprise if they win the coveted prize for the second time after winning the first one at the inaugural WorldT20 2007 held in South Africa. Indian team is  on a hot streak that saw them beat Australia in their backyard and recently win Asia Cup 2016 with ease to stake a claim that they are the team to beat in T20 format at the moment. The other advantage is home conditions that will prove to be a bonus for India playing in such a mega event.

India is placed in tough Group 2 that consists of teams like New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan and qualifier. Team Blue will play their first game against New Zealand on March 15 and then play hi-octane game against Pakistan on March 19.

Men’s First round (top points holder will proceed to round 2)
Group A: Netherlands, Bangladesh, Oman and Ireland
Group B: Zimbabwe, Scotland Afghanistan and Hong Kong

Second round groups Super 10
Group 1: West Indies, Sri Lanka, England South Africa and winner group B (Q1B) Super 10
Group 2: India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan and winner group A (Q1A)

Srilanka are defending champions after winning the tournament last time in 2014 but they don’t look the same side having suffered losses on consistent basis after exit of stalwart players like Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.

The defending champions Srilanka are placed in Group 1 with teams like England, South Africa,West indies and qualifier.
Sri Lanka is placed in Super 10 in Group 1 along with South Africa, West Indies, England and a yet-to-be-decided qualifier.The reigning champions will play the first game against qualifier on March 17 at Kolkata and then play West indies on March 20 at Bengaluru. The remaining matches will be played against South Africa and England.

Pakistan who the 2009 WorldT20 title in England will commence their tournament by playing against qualifier on March 16 at Kolkata and will play arch-rivals India on March 19.The mercurial team will play the remaining games against Australia and New Zealand.

England with new look might throw a surprise at the tournament as they have won the T20 trophy way back in 2010 held in Caribbean.Australia are shaping up well with their T20 series victory in South Africa while West indies is always enticing proposition to watch in such format given their win in 2012 in Sri Lanka.

South Africa is also looking good, but it remains a far-fetched dream whether they can go one better in this event given their past hiccups at the knockout games.
The winner of the World T20 2016 tournament will win a sum of US$5.6 Million that is approximately 80 percent increase from the last tournament held in Bangladesh in 2014.

Leave a Reply