Pakistan take on T20 Champions West Indies in the first game of T20 series

Pakistan is set to play WorldT20 Champions West Indies in first game of the three match T20 series at Dubai starting on September 23rd.


Pakistan will begin their home season against West Indies by competing in a T20 series followed by the Odi and test series to conclude the tour in October. Pakistan side is coming into the series on the back of a successful tour to England where they managed to draw the test series and win the one-off T20 game. Though they were badly thrashed by England in the one day series clearly showing the young side is still on a learning curve in the format under the leadership of Azhar Ali.

Pakistan Cricket Board appointed new captain Sarfaraz Ahmad to instill new vigor in the side with experienced players like Wahab Riaz, Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir making up the T20 squad. Umar Akmal is slated to make a comeback in the series after performing well in the domestic circuit.

West Indies will also be without the services of their superstar players like Chris Gayle. André Russell and Darren Sammy but having Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard in the squad means no respite for Pakistan side in the series. The Calypso Kings are currently ranked third in the T20 ratings for teams as they recently defeated India in a T20 series held in America.

The new captain Carlos Brathwaite will be looking towards the likes of Kieron Pollard, Marlon Samuels and Sunil Narine to put in big performances for the side to outclass Pakistan in the series. The new players like Kesrick Williams, Nicolas Pooran and Evin Lewis picked for the series are exciting prospects that will add more firepower to the side.

West Indies are certainly tipped as favorites to win the opening game of the series played at Dubai.

Team news


Squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (c&wk), Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan, Umar Akmal, Saad Nasim, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees, Mohammad Amir, Shoaib Malik, Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Nawaz.

West Indies

Squad: Carlos Brathwaite (c), Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor,  Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard Andre Fletcher (wk), Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams.


Leave a Reply