Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman star as Bangladesh clinch ODI series

Mushfiqur Rahim scored a splendid century followed by excellent bowling performances from Mustafizur Rahman and Mehidy Hasan was enough to see Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by a comprehensive 103-run win via DLS method. With this result, Bangladesh have managed to clinch the one-day series with one game to spare.

Earlier in the day, Bangladesh skipper Tamim Iqbal won the toss and elected to bat first. Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan perished for low scores to see Bangladesh lose their first two wickets with just 15 runs on the board.

Liton Das worked hard for his runs but couldn’t capitalize on his good start. The right-handed batsman perished in the 11th over to see Bangladesh lose their third wicket.

All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain failed to make an impact with the bat after being promoted ahead of experienced player like Mahmudullah Riyad.

Wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah Riyad came together and put on a 87-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

For Bangladesh, Mushfiqur Rahim completed his 8th ton in limited-overs cricket. He played exceedingly well and finished the innings with the top-score of 125 runs off 127 balls with the help of ten boundaries. He was well supported by Mahmudullah Riyad, who scored 41 runs off 58 balls with the help of one four and two sixes.

Due to scintillating ton from Mushfiqur Rahim, Bangladesh were dismissed foe 246 runs in 48.1 overs.

For Sri Lanka, pacer Dushmantha Chameera and Lakshan Sadakan claimed three wickets, whereas Isuru Udana claimed two wickets.

Chasing 247 runs for victory, Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Perera once again failed to capitalize on their good starts. The visitors failed to deliver a strong show with the bat and could only post 141 runs for the loss of nine wickets in 40 overs before heavy rains came down at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

For his spectacular ton, Mushfiqur Rahim was once again named player of the match. The third and final game of the one-day series will be played at Shere Bangla National Stadium on Friday.

Leave a Reply