Mahmudullah, Saifuddin star as Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe

All-rounder Mahmudullah played a brilliant knock and Mohammad Saifuddin’s outstanding spell with the new ball helped Bangladesh in registering a 39-run win against Zimbabwe in the 4th game of Bangladesh Tri-series in Chittagong on Wednesday.

The day started with the Zimbabwe captain Hamilton Masakadza winning the toss and opting to bat first in excellent batting conditions.

His decision paid instant dividend as Bangladesh got off to a decent start as openers Liton Das and Najmul Hossain Shanto added 49 runs in space of the first five overs.

However, a 78-run partnership between wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah helped Bangladesh post a competitive total of 175 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their 20 overs.

Mahmudullah finished the innings with the top score of 62 off just 41 balls with the help of five sixes, whereas Rahim scored 32 off 26 balls, including three fours and a six. Opener Liton Das also produced a crucial innings at the top of the order and scored 38 off 22 balls with the help of four fours and two sixes.

Bangladesh produced a clinical display with bat and ball to register 39-run win over Zimbabwe in a game played at Chittagong.

For Zimbabwe, pacer Kyle Jarvis was the pick of the bowlers and finished with figures of 3 for 32 from his four overs.

In reply, Zimbabwe had a horrid beginning as they lost three wickets for just 8 runs inside the first three overs, courtesy probing new-ball spell from Mohammad Saifuddin and Shakib Al Hasan.

Captain Hamilton Masakadza fought hard and scored run-a-ball 25 with the help of three boundaries. Despite losing wickets at regular intervals, Richmond Mutumbami played exceedingly and managed to produce a half-century in a losing cause.

Mutumbami finished the innings with the top score of 54 off 32 balls with the help of four fours and three sixes, whereas tail-ender Kyle Jarvis scored 27 off 20 balls with the help of two sixes.

For Bangladesh, Shafiul Islam was the most successful bowler as he claimed three, whereas Mustafizur Rahman and Aminul Islam claimed a wicket each.

Leave a Reply