Kolkata Knight Riders end their losing streak with a five-wicket win over Punjab Kings

Excellent bowling performances from Pat Cummins, Prasidh Krishna and Sunil Narine were enough to see Kolkata beat Punjab in the 21st match of the 2021 Indian Premier League played at Ahmedabad. With this result, Kolkata managed to break their losing streak in the competition.

Earlier in the day, Kolkata Skipper Eoin Morgan won the toss and opted to bowl first. The decision proved to be a correct one as bowlers put in a clinical performance to restrict Punjab to a below-par score of 123 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their 20 overs.

For Kolkata, pacer Prasidh Krishna was the standout bowler and claimed three wickets whereas spinner Sunil Narine and pacer Pat Cummins claimed two wickets each.

Chasing just 125 runs for victory, Shubnam Gill perished for a first-ball duck to see Kolkata get off to a poor start. Nitish Rana could last longer as he was trapped right in front of the stumps by pacer Mohammad Shami.

All-rounder Sunil Narine’s woeful run with the bat continued as he perished for a duck to see Kolkata reeling at 17 for 3 after three overs.

Rahul Tripathi and Captain Eoin Morgan came together at the crease and put on a 66-run partnership to lead the fightback for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Skipper Eoin Morgan finally managed to gets under his belt after not doing much with the bat in the previous matches. Left-hander put in an excellent performance and finished the innings with the top-score of 47 runs off 40 balls with the help of four fours and two sixes. He was well supported by Tripathi, who chipped in with crucial innings of 41 runs of 32 balls with the help of seven fours.

All-rounder Andre Russell and wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik put in crucial scores to help Kolkata Knight Riders complete the chase in the 16th over of the innings.

For Punjab Kings, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Shami and Deepak Hooda were economical with the ball in hand and claimed one wicket each.

For his unbeaten 47 runs, Eoin Morgan was named player of the match.

Leave a Reply