Kevon Cooper’s late blitz helps Trinbago clinch CPL title

The final of Caribbean Premier League (CPL) played at Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad saw Trinbago Knight Riders come up trumps against St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. Kevon Cooper’s late blitz with the bat allowed Trinbago to lift the crown for the second time since its inception.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots looked in utter disbelief after reducing Trinbago to 90 for 7 in the chase before Cooper and Ramdin produced a classic fightback to snatch an improbable win. The game was too close to call as both sides had the opportunity to win the game. For Patriots, it was their most experienced bowler Ben Hilfenhaus, who turned out to be the main culprit as he conceded 21 runs in penultimate over to see Trinbago needing another 2 runs to win the CPL title.Kevon Cooper did put away any loose offered by Hilfenhaus to see Trinbago move an inch closer to claiming their second title.

Patriots were heavily reliant on Evin Lewis and Chris Gayle for runs at the top of the order. The opening pair have been in-form batsmen for the side but the frail middle-order was a matter of concern in this big final. Javon Searles made early inroads for Trinbago as he dismissed Gayle and Hafeez for low scores to see the Patriots slump to 37 for 3 after 8 overs. Sunil Narine trapped Lewis right in front for 16 runs to see Patriots in a deep trouble. The runs dried as Dwayne Bravo and co. bowled immaculate lengths to see Patriots struggle to score runs. Brandon King, Jonathan Carter and Devon Thomas chipped with useful knocks before Carlos Brathwaite’s 25 ball 30 runs helped Patriots posted 135 runs off 20 overs.

Sheldon Cottrell struck for Patriots in his opening to spell to dismiss Sunil Narine and Dwayne Bravo for low scores. New Zealand’s Colin Munro joined Hamza Tariq at the crease as they put together 36 runs to push Trinbago score along nicely. Tabraiz Shamsi dismissed Hamza for 19 runs while Hafeez came back to take out Colin Munro and Darren Bravo in quick succession. Dan Christian stay at the crease was short as he was run-out after some excellent work in field by Patriots.

Dinesh Ramdin came to the crease and played a composed knock under pressure to add 46 runs with Cooper to see Trinbago stage a comeback into the game after being reduced for 90 for 7 in 14.2 overs. Kevon Cooper was named man of the match for his outstanding performance with bat and ball. Guyana’s Chadwick Walton was named man of the series as he scored 458 runs from 12 games in this year’s Caribbean Premier League

In the end, the best team of the Caribbean Premier League 2017 in Trinbago Knight Riders lifted the title. Patriots will feel that they should have won this game after putting Trinbago under pressure in the chase.

Leave a Reply