Jamaica Tallawahs outclass Guyana Amazon Warriors by nine wickets to clinch their second title in the final of Caribbean Premier League 2016

The final of the Caribbean Premier League saw the two best teams of competition-Jamaica Tallawahs and Guyana Amazon Warriors battling it out for the ultimate prize. The game took place at Warner Park, Basseterre in St. Kitts.

The two sides earlier met in the playoff with Guyana coming out on top in that contest but the finale was different story as Jamaica Tallawahs produce their best performance of the competition to beat Guyana Amazon Warriors by nine wickets to win the Caribbean Premier League title for the second time. For Guyana, it was yet another final in which they failed to be on the winning stage.

Chris Gayle won the toss for Jamaica Tallawahs and decided to field first as Warriors batted first on the surface produced at Warner Park. André Russell provided an early strike for Tallawahs as he dismissed opener Nic Maddinson while Chris Lynn also failed on the night as he was undone by a delivery from left arm spinner Shakib-ul-Hasan. The story for Warriors has been the over reliance on the likes of Chris Lynn and Jason Mohammad. The duo has bailed the side out of trouble on numerous occasions but could not come up with goods in the final against Jamaica Tallawahs. Dwayne Smith also fell for 17 runs as he was dismissed by right arm medium pacer Oshane Thomas.

Jason Mohammad also went for duck and was trapped right in front by Shakib-ul-Hasan to leave Warriors in a spot of bother at 53 for 4 after eight overs. Sohail Tanvir was promoted to no.4 in batting order and was only batsmen in the lineup to get a substantial score. He scored 42 runs off 37 balls and struck six fours in his innings. The rest of batting side folded for just 93 runs in 16 overs with spinners Imad Wasim and Shakib-ul-Hasan doing the damage as they took five wickets between them to setup a one-sided contest at the halfway mark.

Jamaica Tallawahs came out all guns blazing as openers Chris Gayle and Chadwick Wilson put on 79 run opening stand to take the side to comfortable win by nine wickets. Jamaica Tallawahs captain Chris Gayle played a brisk innings as he struck unbeaten 54 runs off 27 balls to take his side to win the coveted prize for the second time since the inception of the Caribbean Premier League. Gayle also ended tournament with 425 runs in 13 games played for Jamaica Tallawahs in this season. Kumar Sangakkara ended the game as he struck the winning runs to spark off wild celebrations among the teammates and supporters at the ground.

Leave a Reply