India announce their squad for the bilateral one day series against New Zealand

India is set to play New Zealand in a five match odi series after the hosts completed a whitewash on the visitors in the test series by 3-0.The hosts will be keen to do well in the format after experiencing not so good results since the last World Cup played in Australia and New Zealand. India is always considered to be formidable at home and will be determined to do better in the shorter formats on more consistent basis. It is going to be a visual delight for cricketing audiences as the two great one day teams will take battle in the coming days. New Zealand side has been in terrific form in one day format since the last World Cup and have been winners of the last three one day series played at home against the likes of Pakistan, Srilanka and Australia.

India has selected their squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand as MS Dhoni will continue to lead the side with vice-captain Virat Kohli providing a good support. The side looks good on the paper as the likes of Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina and Ajinkya Rahane are performing well in the setup. The lineup also has some exciting players in Manish Pandey and Mandeep Singh, who have performed well in the domestic setup and deservedly earned their call up into the national side. The momentum will surely be with India as they will be confident to win the series in a convincing fashion after their successful exploits in the test series.

The selectors have picked Amit Mishra, Jayant Yadav and Axar Patel for the series while premier spin duo Ravendra Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin have been rested for the series for them to be fully fit and fresh for the coming big test series against England in the month of November.

Indian ODI squad for New Zealand series – MS Dhoni (c&wk), Suresh Raina, Umesh Yadav, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kedar Jadhav,Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Ajinkya Rahane, Mandeep Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni.

Leave a Reply