India and Bangladesh lock horns in the Asia Cup opener

India had a mixed year in 2015 as they failed to defend the World Cup Trophy held in Trans-Tasman shores. They lost a bilateral series against Bangladesh and home series against South Africa in shorter formats putting pressure on MS Dhoni captaincy that his time was up in the position.
There have calls to make Virat Kohli the skipper due to good run form for Indian Team in test cricket.
Bangladesh on the other hand has finally coming into groove in terms of playing one day cricket up to the level of other test playing nations.
The Bengal Tigers have won 14 matches out of their last 19 games. India had a good sufficient amount of cricket going into the Asia Cup as openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have shown tremendous form with Virat Kohli churning out runs as usual.
The middle order players like Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina and Hardik Pandya need time in the middle as they have not played a significant long innings in the previous games.
Yuvraj Singh will be man to watch out as since his ouster from the team, India has struggled to find a finisher who can go big in the end overs and win matches.
Meanwhile, MS Dhoni has worked on his fitness and made a leaner appearance after a layoff from cricket but has suffered from back spasms from two days before the Asia Cup. The injury is said to be a minor one and the skipper will be recuperate in time for both the major events.
If the team is not fit then Parthiv Patel will be slotted in the side in place of MS Dhoni as he has shown great form in domestic limited overs competition.

India (probable line-up): 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suresh Raina, 5 Yuvraj Singh, 6 MS Dhoni (capt & wk)/Parthiv Patel, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Ashish Nehra
Bangladesh Coach Hathurusingha was pleased with his side form and combination as they could pick Mohammad Mithun and wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan.
Bangladesh (probable line-up): 1 Soumya Sarkar, 2 Mohammad Mithun, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim, 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Arafat Sunny, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Al-Amin Hossain

The team which draws first blood in this match will gather vital points and confidenceĀ  for theĀ  next games in the Asia Cup 2016 held in Bangladesh.

Leave a Reply