ICC announce schedule for Champions Trophy 2017 as India play Pakistan in Group B

The International Cricket Council has finalized the schedule for Champions Trophy 2017 in England with Ashes rivals England and Australia pitted against each other in Group A while India and Pakistan are to set collide in Group B. New Zealand is also in Group A which sets up riveting clash against Australia as cricketing fans will get to see Trans-Tasman rivalry in the first round. The opening match will see host England take on Bangladesh at Cardiff on 1st June 2017.The other two venues decided are Edgbaston and The Oval for the event. The Champions Trophy 2017 will contain 15 games to be played in 18 days with the final to be played at the Oval on 18th June 2017.

The ticket ballot will commence from 1st September and close on 30th September while the sale of remaining tickets will be in the month of October. The tournament for the first time will see no associate nation participation as top eight teams will compete and battle it out to capture the ultimate prize.

The semifinals will be played in Cardiff and Edgbaston on 14th and 15th June as four teams will make the semifinal place after all group matches are played out in the tournament.ICC Chief Executive said that the tournament holds a lot of importance and will provide entertaining contests to cricketing audience around the world with the best teams playing each other. England is set to host the Champions Trophy for the third time after being in the finals in 2004 and 2013 but ended up on losing side on both occasions against West indies and India

Groups and Schedule

  • Group A: Australia, New Zealand, England and Bangladesh
  • Group B: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa
  • June 1 – Eng v Ban, The Oval
  • June 2 – Aus v NZ, Edgbaston
  • June 3 – SL v SA, The Oval
  • June 4 – Ind v Pak, Edgbaston
  • June 5 – Aus v Ban, The Oval
  • June 6 – Eng v NZ, Cardiff
  • June 7 – Pak v SA, Edgbaston
  • June 8 – Ind v SL, The Oval
  • June 9 – NZ v Ban, Cardiff
  • June 10 – Eng v Aus, Edgbaston
  • June 11 – Ind v SA, The Oval
  • June 12 – SL v Pak, Cardiff
  • June 14 – Semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff
  • June 15 – Semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston
  • June 18 – Final, The O

Leave a Reply