Hosts India topple Australia by eight wickets at Dharamsala to reclaim Border Gavaskar Trophy

India stormed to a comprehensive eight wicket win in the final and fourth test match of Border Gavaskar Trophy played at Dharamsala. Hosts looked in complete control in the chase to chase down a paltry score of 106 runs after dismissing Australia for 137 runs in their second innings.

Hosts produced a stellar show with the bat and ball to clinch a well-deserved Border Gavaskar Trophy after going down in the first game at Pune in the first Test. India needed another 87 runs to win the game on final day as Lokesh Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane played with composure and grit to see the side home to a famous win. Rahane went on the charge against the bowlers as he pulled Pat Cummins for two big sixes to see India score runs at a quicker rate than normal. He remained unbeaten till the end and scored 38 runs off 27 balls.He struck four boundaries and two sixes to help India win the game by eight wickets.

The key moment in the final and fourth test was Indian bowling on Day 3 as Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled probing spells to dismiss the Australian top order in no time. The visitors could not withstand the charge as they got bundled out for 137 runs to see India need only 106 runs to win the match. Ravendra Jadeja also bowled well and backed the frontline seamers to see Australia batting crumble on a pitch offering plenty of bite and turn for the spinners on a weary surface.

Ravendra Jadeja had an incredible game with both bat and ball as he was named man of the match for his contribution in the game. He was also awarded Man of the Series for his 127 runs with the bat coupled with 25 wickets with the ball. For Australia, Steven Smith amassed 499 runs with three centuries to his name in the four-match test series.

Leave a Reply