Formidable India take on a low morale Lankan Tigers

India take on a weak Srilankan team in the seventh match of the Asia Cup that will be played at Shere Bangla National Stadium,Mirpur.India have shown consistency at the right time and won at least seven games from their last eight after triumph over Australia at down under in T20.

There have troubled times for Srilanka as once a team who defeated india in the final of previous WorldT20 held in Bangladesh.

India did manage to go through unscathed due to mesmerizing moments of fast bowling produced by Mohammad Amir but india bowling did the land the knockout punch in the game against Pakistan.

In the recent series against Srilanka they bundled them out for 82 and 127 in consecutive games to win the t20 series after a horrible first game.

Lasith Malinga abscence seems to be major blow for side who is struggling to find consistency.Malinga has not been able to fitness due to constant grueling schedules have taken a toll on his body.

There is still potency in the attack with Rangana Herath,Dushmantha Chameera and Angelo Matthews but some how are managing to get their act to produce desired performance on the field.The team has serious batting problems as they look much feeble after exit of Kumar Sangakarra and Mahela Jayawardena.

The pitch condition should give some hope to Sri Lanka who will want utilize seaming conditions to trouble India’s batting powerhouse.

Teams news

Shikhar Dhawan is available for selection after suffering from niggle that sidelined for the previous games.He will partner Rohit Sharma at the top of the order who also cleared to play the match after sustaining injury on his toe courtesy of Amir’s searing yorker..

India (probable): 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suresh Raina, 5 Yuvraj Singh, 6 MS Dhoni (wk & capt), 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Aswhin, 10 Ashish Nehra, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

If Malinga does not recover from injury,they could persist with Thisara Perera and include him in the team as there is no other bowlers in the squad for Asia Cup

Sri Lanka (probable): 1 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Milinda Siriwardana, 4 Dasun Shanaka, 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Chamara Kapugedara, 7 Shehan Jayasuriya, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Rangana Herath, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Lasith Malinga (capt)/ Thisara Perera

Pitch and conditions

The Mirpur pitch has produced lateral movement forĀ  the seamers. The weather is expected to remain good for the encounter.

Leave a Reply