Former Srilankan off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame alongside greats like Arthur Morris and George Lohmann

Muttiah Muralitharan has become the first Srilankan player to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. He will commemorated with the honor in this year alongside former Australia opener Arthur Morris, England fast bowler George Lohmann and former Australian captain of women side Karen Rolton.The Srilankan off spinner is the leading bowler in terms of wickets in one day internationals and test cricket. He is among the two players to have taken over 1000 wickets in the game of cricket.Muttiah Muralitharan represented Srilanka for almost 19 years from year 1992 till 2011.

George Lohmann, who represented England and played as a fast bowler in early 1880s and 1890s was the fastest bowler to take 100 wickets in Test Cricket. He reached the landmark of 100 wickets in just 16 Tests. Arthur Morris was part of Australian side which was dubbed as “Invincibles” in the 1948 Ashes series that saw him compile 696 runs at a staggering average 87 leaving behind the great batsman of all time, Don Bradman that year.

Karen Rolton represented Australia for a period of 14 years since making his debut in 1995 and retiring from the game in 2009.She has fair share of achievements in his career having scored unbeaten 209 against England at Headingly in 2001 in a test match which was record in women’s game for quite some time.Rolton has scored a hundred in the final of ICC Women Cricket World Cup 2005 and was named as captain of Australian side in 2006.

ICC Chief Executive Dave Richardson stated that the list included a number of well-deserved inductees from various eras who have made immense contribution in the game of cricket. He said Muralitharan is one of finest spinners to have ever graced the cricketing field while Arthur Morris and George Lohmann were players of exceptional talents representing different eras and going down into folklore of cricket as greats of the game.

Leave a Reply