Faf du Plessis to lead the test side as South Africa announce their squad for home series against Srilanka

South Africa has announced their test squad for home series against Srilanka to be played in the month of December. The Proteas have included Theunis de Bruyn as a replacement for Rilee Rossouw who once again is injured and will not take part in the series.de Bruyn has shown impressive form with the bat at the domestic level and plays for Knights. He has great first class average of 48 and has scored six centuries at the domestic level.

The side is will be without the big guns like Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn and AB de Villiers. The first game will be played at Port Elizabeth on 26th December as the squad has been reduced to 13 members as there was no need to include second wicket-keeper and spinner for the series. Left arm seamer Wayne Parnell is also included in the setup after missing the Australian series through an injury.

Faf du Plessis is expected to lead the test side as new captain after AB de Villiers relinquished the duties of captaincy. He resigned after he was unable to regain fitness from injury and is set to miss the series.

Proteas Test squad:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma, Stephen Cook, Hashim Amla. Keshav Maharaj, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dean Elgar, Theunis de Bruyn, JP Duminy.


Leave a Reply