Chris Lynn’s blazing ton scripts Lahore Qalandar’s emphatic win over Multan Sultans

Superb new-ball performance Shaheen Shah Afridi followed splendid maiden PSL ton from Chris Lynn was enough for Lahore Qalandars complete a crushing win over Multan Sultans in the 29th match of 2020 Pakistan Super League. With this result, for the time in PSL, Lahore Qalandars have secured their place in the playoffs of the competition.

Lahore Qalandars won the toss and opted to bowl first on a decent looking surface prepared at Gaddafi Stadium. The decision proved to be a correct one as Shaheen Shah Afridi produced a splendid delivery to dismiss Moeen Ali in the opening over of the innings. Off-spinner Mohammad Hafeez came into the attack and dismissed in-form opener Zeeshan Ashraf to reduce Sultans to 4 for 2 after 1.3 overs.

Captain Shan Masood and Ravi Bopara came together and put on 75-run partnership to rebuild the innings for Multan. Medium-pacer David Wiese came into the attack and dismissed Masood, who was cleaned up while playing a rash shot in the 11th over. Shan Masood played well and scored 42 runs off 29 balls with the help of five boundaries.

Ravi Bopara also chipped in with crucial innings for Multan Sultans and scored 33 runs off 36 balls with the help of four boundaries. David Wiese dismissed Bopara in the 13th over to see Multan lose their fourth wicket. Playing his first game, Asad Shafiq failed to make an impression to see Multan another wicket.

Khushdil Shah and Rohail Nazir came together and produced an incredible partnership to see Multan Sultans stage a comeback in the later stages of the innings. With the side precariously placed at 91 for 5 after 13 overs, Khushdil Shah and Rohail Nazir added 74 runs in the next six overs to see Sultans on course to post competitive score on the board.

For Multan, Khushdil Shah delivered a scintillating innings and finished with unbeaten 70 runs off 29 balls with the help of five fours and six sixes. He was well supported by Rohail Nazir, who chipped in with 24 runs off 17 balls with the help of two fours and one six.

For Lahore, left-arm quick Shaheen Shah Afridi was the pick of the bowlers with 2 for 23 in 4 overs. Medium-pacer David Wiese also put in tidy bowling performance and claimed two wickets.

Chasing 188 runs for securing their playoff berth, Lahore openers Fakhar Zaman and Chris Lynn launched an onslaught on the opposition bowlers. Zaman and Lynn put on a 100-run partnership to put Lahore Qalandars in the box seat to win the match.

Leg-spinner Usman Qadir dismissed Fakhar Zaman, who scored 57 runs off 35 balls with the help of seven boundaries and two sixes.

For Qalandars, Chris Lynn looked at his absolute best with the bat and put on an exhibition of power hitting. Lynn notched up his maiden ton in PSL and remained unbeaten till the end to help Lahore Qalandars canter to a comprehensive win. Lynn scored 113 not out off 55 balls with the help of 12 fours and 8 sixes. He was well supported by Skipper Sohail Akhtar, who chipped in with unbeaten 19 off 23 balls with the help of two boundaries.

For his blistering maiden PSL ton, Chris Lynn was named man of the match.

Leave a Reply