Bowlers, Babar Azam star as Karachi Kings clinch maiden PSL title

Karachi Kings ended their trophy drought after winning 2020 Pakistan Super League final against Lahore Qalandars. Imad Wasim-led unit registered a hard-fought win over Lahore Qalandars in a final played at National Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

The grand-finale started with Lahore Qalandars Skipper Sohail Akhtar winning the toss and opting to bat first. Karachi Kings made one change to their playing XI as Wayne Parnell was dropped and Umaid Asif was slotted into the playing XI.

Openers Tamim Iqbal and Fakhar Zaman got the side off to a steady start with 69-run partnership for the opening wicket. Pacer Umaid Asif came to the attack and turned things around in favor of Karachi Kings. He dismissed both the openers in his very first over.

For Lahore, Tamim Iqbal played well and finished the innings with the top-score of 35 runs off 38 balls with the help of four boundaries and one six. He was well supported by Fakhar Zaman, who chipped in with 27 runs off 24 balls with the help of four boundaries.

Captain Imad Wasim also bowled well and picked up key wicket of Mohammad Hafeez to see Lahore Qalandars lose their third wicket in the 11th over.

Karachi bowlers disciplined performance did not allow Lahore Qalandars to score easy runs. Ben Dunk and Sohail Akhtar failed to capitalize on their good starts and gave their wickets at crucial stages of the game.

All-rounder David Wiese and Shaheen Shah Afridi added crucial runs at the end to see Lahore Qalandars post a below-par score of 134 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

For Karachi Kings, pace trio of Waqas Maqsood, Umaid Asif and Arshad Iqbal put in excellent performances and claimed two wickets each.

Chasing 135 runs to seal their maiden PSL title, openers Sharjeel Khan and Babar Azam got Karachi Kings off to a flying start. Sharjeel Khan once again perished in the third over after scoring 13 runs off 12 balls.

England opener Alex Hales also failed to capitalize on his good start and was bowled by medium-pacer Dilbar Hussain in the seventh over.

Babar Azam led the way for Karachi Kings and looked in excellent form with the bat. He put on a 61-run partnership with wicket-keeper Chadwick Walton to see Karachi Kings take control of the game.

Despite a little stutter at the other end, Karachi Kings completed the chase in the penultimate over of the innings. Captain Imad Wasim struck the winning run to see Karachi Kings win their maiden PSL trophy.

For Karachi, Babar Azam was the standout player with the bat and smashed unbeaten 63 runs off 49 balls with the help of seven boundaries. He was well supported by Chadwick Walton, who chipped in with 22 runs off 27 balls with the help of one four.

For his splendid half-century, Babar Azam was named player of the match. For accumulating 473 runs in 12 matches at an average of 59.12, Babar Azam was named player of the tournament.

Leave a Reply