Bowlers, Aaron Finch power Australia to T20 series win

Aaron Finch’s brilliant half-century and Sean Abbott’s menacing spell with the new ball helped Australia in registering a comprehensive ten wicket-win against Pakistan in the third and final game of the T20I series played at Perth Stadium on Friday.

The day started with Australian Captain Aaron Finch winning the toss and opting to field first in perfect bowling conditions.

His decision paid instant dividend as Pakistan lost three wickets at the score of 22 in 4.3 overs. Babar Azam suffered from a rare failure as Left-arm quick Mitchell Starc trapped him right in front of the stumps. Haris Sohail and Mohammad Rizwan also failed to produce any sort of runs.

Iftikhar Ahmed produced a sensible innings to see Pakistan post a paltry score of 106 runs for the loss off eight wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Middle-order batsman Iftikhar Ahmed finished the innings with the top score of 45 runs off just 37 balls with the help of six fours, whereas Imam-ul-Haq scored 14 runs off 15 balls with the help of two boundaries.

For the home side, new-ball pair of Mitchell Starc and Sean Abbott delivered excellent performance and picked up two wickets each. Pacer Kane Richardson also kept the pressure on the visitors and finished with figures of 3 for 18 from his four overs.

Bowlers delivered scintillating performance to see Hosts Australia register a comprehensive ten wicket win to clinch the T20I series.

In reply, Australia got off to blazing start as Aaron Finch and David Warner played their shots and kept the scoreboard ticking at a decent rate.

The opening pair of Finch and Warner put on a unbeaten 109-run partnership to see Australia canter to a comprehensive win. With this result, Australia managed to clinch the T20 series.

Aaron Finch finished the innings with the top score of 52 not out off 36 balls with the help of four fours and three sixes, whereas Warner scored unbeaten 48 off 35 balls with the help of four fours and two sixes.

For his scintillating bowling performance, pacer Sean Abbott was named man of the match. Steve Smith was adjudged player of the series.

Leave a Reply